time

I feel like there is never enough time…. many things I need to do are just not getting done as the months roll on…. and as for the things I like to do, well, I may NEVER have time for those !

and yet…. I refuse to  compromise my sleep, exercise and food regimen…. and my time with God…. gosh…. it would be SO easy to shorten my night’s sleep, skip exercise and gobble food (or miss it altogether)…. and what about prayer time, Bible study and praise and worship ?…. even if not cut-out entirely, surely cut-down (in order to get real with life)….

Instead… I step back and look at the bigger picture…. our whole existence here on Earth is to prepare us for eternity… which has a different value-system….  our time spent praising God and being His “arms and legs” on Earth is in fact the MOST IMPORTANT thing we could possibly do each day….  second in importance, is our bodily maintenance, without adequate sleep, food and exercise, how can we expect to function properly over the longterm ?

The people of Bible days had so much time on their hands….. but for us, it seems like the days are getting shorter and the years going by faster… and we are caught in the wirlwind.

Clearly, if there is insufficient time… SOMETHING will have to go…. does it matter if the car is washed or the house tidy ? do you really have to spend so much time talking to people ?…… examine priorities… and practice time managemnet… and here are some Bible verses to think about:

Luke 10:38 -42 “Now it came to pass, as they went…………… Mary has chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her”

Ephesians 5:15 – 17 “See, then, that ye walk circumspectly……. understanding what the will of the Lord is”

Psalm 89:47 “Remember how short my time is ! Why hast thou made all men in vain ?”

Psalm 63:1 “O God, thou art my God, early will I seek thee;…….”

Psalm 39:5 “Behold, thou hast made my days as an handbreadth, and mine age is as nothing before thee….. ”

Psalm 90:12 “So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom”

Isaiah 40:29-31 “He giveth power to the faint; and to those who have no might he increaseth strength. Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall. But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”

This last one…. I write it completely out (for those that do not look up any verses)

Let this be your comfort and experience today…. regardless of how much or little you accomplish.