faith

“Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” (Hebrews 11:1)

“But without faith it is impossible to please Him;  for he that cometh to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him” (Hebrews 11:6)

I was praying, asking God to fill me with His Holy Spirit that I might manifest the fruit (Galatians 5:22 – 23), and know His will in my day-to-day experience…. then He led me to a place in a book by Watchman Nee, “The Normal Christian Life” on page 87, “you can pray and wait for years and never experience the Spirit’s power; but when you cease to plead with the Lord to pour out His Spirit upon you, and when instead you trustfully praise Him that the Spirit HAS BEEN poured out because the Lord Jesus HAS BEEN glorified, you will find your problem IS SOLVED.”

I have ALREADY RECEIVED the Spirit, and all I have to do is Praise Him for that… and EXPECT that He will manifest the fruit in my life.

But how can I be so sure that this is true ? …. by FAITH in His Word which says:

“Repent, and be baptized every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of your sins; and ye SHALL receive the GIFT of the Holy Spirit”   (Acts2:38)

Luke 11:13 “If ye then, being evil, know how to to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him ?”

Praise God, we dont have to beg and plead and wait…. He has already given…. we already have the Holy Spirit (if we have fulfilled the conditions of Acts 2:38)…. and to see Him work in our lives we only need to BELIEVE and EXPECT Him to work !

So what are the conditions of Acts 2:38 ?

1. Repentance – we can be sure that we have repented when:

a… formerly we enjoyed sin but now we cannot feel happy when sinning

b… formerly  I thought the world an attractive place but now I prefer thinking about Heaven

c… formerly I thought being a Christian to be a dull, boring and miserable life but now I think differently

d…. once I thought certain things delightful but now I think them vile

e…. once I thought Spiritual things (the Bible, Christian values and service) to be worthless and a waste of time, but now I think them most precious.

2. Baptism – Baptism is faith in action…  I make a public testimony before men that I am now “dead and buried” to the world and “risen and alive” with Jesus…. WHY is baptism faith in action ?….. because as yet, at the time you make this statement, it is NOT already your experience…. it calls for faith because:

a. your friends will be watching you daily to observe the effects of your stated CHANGE of life.

b. you have nothing but FAITH that this is going to become your reality… because you know you cannot do this on your own…. but BELIEVE and EXPECT that it will happen based on the Word of God.

Read Romans 10:9 – 10 ….. it is the same idea as the above…. public confession (Baptism) and inward belief in your heart (repentance).

If you have fulfilled the conditions then you are both saved AND filled with the Holy Spirit….. you already have everything…. just do what a popular hymn says:

“TRUST and OBEY for there is no other way…. to be happy in Jesus, but to TRUST and OBEY”

Prayer for today:

Loving Heavenly Father… I thank and praise  You that you have given me your Holy Spirit to be with me always….. as I live for You daily may I allow Him full control of my life by faith. Amen