control

For people (like me) who are very logical and precise….. trusting my intuition (which is how “we are led by the Spirit”) can be difficult to do.

Time and again I have been “helped in my spirit” by God… and yet I find it so hard to “abandon” my “habitual thinking patterns”.

And yet, until I can be “led by the Spirit” on a more continuous basis…. how will I achieve what God has planned for me ?…. because it is certain that I cannot achieve His  wishes through my flesh and my mind.

But why is it so hard ?… because it is difficult to establish the right balance between your soul and your spirit…

Scripture indicates that we are to be led by our spirits (because it is through our spirits that God works)…. but yet, our souls (that is our MIND and WILL) must still control our spirits (1 Corinthians 14:32)…. we are NEVER expected to ABANDON  our REASON and CONTROL… and it is a difficult balance.

EVIL spirits get control of us when we “blank”  our minds and “surrender” our bodies BECAUSE this is NOT the way that the Holy Spirit leads us.

I have always been a “CONTROL FREAK”…. I have never been “drunk”… I have never taken any drugs that render me “out of control” of my body or mind…. in fact all my life, I have feared losing control (probably because my father had a “nervous breakdown” when I was younger and I was scared by his behavior).

The Holy Spirit has revealed to me that “loss of control”  or “surrendering control”  is NEVER what is meant when the Bible talks about being “led by the Spirit”….. God wants us in possession of ALL our faculties…. the Holy Spirit leads us by INTUITION but at all times WE have to set our own “wills” to do His Will…. and how easy it is for us to say “NO” at any point…. and He respects our choice, even though it may grieve Him… and we lose out on the blessing….. my friends, following the will of God is not easy and it calls for great committment on our part both to know and to do His will…. because we are NOT “robots” and our own wills get in the way of His plans.

Now contrast all this with the workings of evil spirits….. evil spirits cannot violate our wills, so instead they DECEIVE us into SURRENDERING our wills….. they FOOL us into thinking that “being led by the spirit” actually means “blanking” our “minds” and “surrendering” our bodies so we can be (used of God ?)…. and when we are in that “surrendered” state… they readily control us  easily (like puppets on a string)…. and we stupidly think that THEIR  “manifestations” through our bodies is the “works of God” in our lives.

WOE unto them who call evil, good, and good, evil (Isaiah 5:20)….my people are destroyed for lack of knowledge (Hosea 4:6)…… PRAY EARNESTLY for SPIRITUAL DISCERNMENT (so LACKING in our churches today) (Hebrews 5:14)….. believe NOT every spirit (spirits of people… human spirits… the verse makes this plain), but TEST the spirits whether they are of God (1 John 4:1)

So returning to my first sentence….. I need to learn to trust my intuition (because that is how the Spirit leads me)… but NOT with a totally UNQUESTIONING trust (otherwise I could be deceived)…. I need BALANCE approach…. most of all, I need at all times, SPIRITUAL DISCERNMENT to know what is “of God” and what is “of evil spirits”.

Prayer for Today:

Loving Heavenly Father, I believe through FAITH… that you want us to have (and have already given us) spiritual discernment through the ministry of your Holy Spirit in our lives….. help us to be SENSITIVE to His prompting and OBEDIENT to His leading…. and guard and protect us from ERROR as we seek to do YOUR WILL… in Jesus name.. Amen.