SOCIAL SCENARIOS

I am giving you the following conversation from Facebook so you can see for yourself how ‘the world’ responds to our witness for God.

(this is the actual transcript of the conversation as it unfolded over the last two days…. the person’s name has been removed and simply replaced with ‘atheist’… does it matter who the person is ? …. is their name important ? …. this IDEOLOGY is far too common among many persons in these last days)

ME: The world as a whole, and America in particular, has forsaken God in public life…. I know many reading this will think that the separation of God and State is a good thing, well, what has it accomplished…. American schoolchildren can be proud to be witches, satanists or homosexuals but they have been prohibited from proudly proclaiming to be Christians. Unfortunately, although humans can do whatever they feel like there are actually consequences to such choices. Who can tell if Trump has been permitted to get this position by God ? …. certainly the path that America has taken is not in accordance with either the Charter of the founding fathers or the Bible and consequences will follow…. NOT by a lightning bolt striking the White house or any other supernatural drama, but by more natural means, like a dangerous madman simply ‘becoming’ president. Psalm 9:17 says, ‘The wicked shall be turned into hell, and all the nations that forget God” …. now whatever your concept of hell may be….. whether it’s death, eternal punishment or simply an upset stomach…. the message is it’s NOT GOOD…. so nothing GOOD is coming in the future unless America, Barbados or (insert your favorite country) gets serious about returning to God and following His ways as outlined in the His book, the Bible

ATHEIST: Nonsense- stop with the fairy tales. I’m an atheist and I don’t believe in your god, I believe in love, kindness, doing what’s right and helping those in need. I don’t judge you for your beliefs but please don’t assume that your religious views have any kind of superiority over anyone else’s views. It makes you appear arrogant and foolish. This is Facebook, not your church, nor your neighbourhood or your town. We are the world and with that comes a world of different cultures, beliefs and practices. Just adhere to what you believe and leave the rest of the people alone to make their own decisions.

ME: A typical hostile reaction to the Word of God ….. to intimidate and silence the messenger….. and based on a faulty premise that everybody’s belief and opinion is equally valid and there is no absolute TRUTH about anything whatsoever….. and does it bother me if the world thinks I am foolish or arrogant ?…. and I agree with you ‘people can make their own decisions’ that is their right but surely preaching the Word of God to the entire world is also my right….. feel free to contradict anything I post but do not try to silence me or trample on my rights…. best wishes to you…. have a nice day.

ATHEIST: Stephen Mendes I surely will and I wish the same for you. It’s too bad you see my response as hostile, I did not intend that, only to let you know not everyone believes in God, many don’t.
Maybe one day you can prove your god exists; as yet, I’ve seen no evidence of that. There’s more proof aliens have visited earth…yet, God remains a figment of people’s imagination. If it comforts you to believe in fairytales you have every right to do so…but do not expect everyone else to believe the same.

ME: I have already proven in my own life that God exists…. and anybody could do the same for themselves… perhaps the reason you see ‘no evidence’ is because you are not going about your investigation in the right way…. I am a scientist…. I lecture STEM subjects at University…. this idea that only ‘ignorant or uneducated’ people believe in ‘fairy tale’ deities is patently FALSE…. quite a few brilliant minds and educated people have come to realize and know God for themselves…. God does not expect people to abandon their intellect and common sense (faculties that He created in the first place)….. God proves Himself in many, many ways to those who are willing to give Him the opportunity to do so…. and the first step would be to concede that He might exist and move from there

Please pass along your comments and suggestions…. I am not saying that I handled this situation well….. I responded as I felt appropriate…. each of us has to decide with God’s help whether we should ‘engage’ and how we should ‘respond’…. but the alternative, doing NOTHING, is hardly an appropriate option for Christians because we are commanded to go into all the world and teach every creature… we simply have to spread the TRUTH, whether it upsets people or not, I hope you find this post helpful and instructive.

Leave a Reply

